The AUSC Region 5 Executive Council meetings and Council of Ministers meetings currently underway in Botswana

29th Sep 2017
14th Nov 2017





The outdoing President of Botswana, His Excellency Lieutenant General Dr. Ian Khama is expected to welcome the 10 Ministers of Sports of the member countries of AUSC Region 5.

The AUSC Region 5 (African Union Sports Council Region 5) member countries are currently meeting here in Botswana to deliberate and shape the future for sports development in the region. The Region, as AUSC Region 5 is affectional known is hosting these meeting as pre cursor for the Regional youth games that will be hosted here in Botswana, Gaborone in December 2018.

The meetings started by gathering of Committees of Women in sports and people with disabilities sport committee. The members of these committees are individuals involved in advocacy groups in supporting the development of sports in their countries. These individuals are seconded by their governments to be part of the regional agenda to promote sports for marginalised groups.

The official Opening of the meetings was conducted by the assistant Minister of Youth Empowerment, Sports and Culture Development, Hon Mr Kefentse Mzwinila.

In his opening remarked the minister said: “We as the government of Botswana are humbled to host such a prestigious event on behalf of AUSC Region 5. This is part of our economic development strategy to host international sports events to boost our economic activities. When we host such events, job and business opportunities are created”

The assistant Minister also spoke about the 2018 Botswana AUSC Region 5 games. He said “The Government of Botswana has signed the Protocol Agreement to host the 8th edition of the AUSC Region 5 Youth Games. Preparation to deliver the best games are underway. The LOC has already been assembled and they are had at work to ensure Botswana hosts successful games”

The AUSC Region 5 meetings will end on Friday when the 10 minister’s of sports in the 10 countries, Angola, Botswana, and Lesotho. Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe will descend to Botswana to consolidate the decisions and policies that have been deliberated by the sports directors and commissions.

The platform is used by the Council of Minister to share, strategize as a collective and formulate cohesion in sports development policies and programmes as part of solidarity as ten member countries of the Region 5.

Confirming the attendance of the Ministers of Sports in the region and executives council members, the CEO of AUSC Region 5, Mr Stanley Mutoya said; we are excited to have successfully hosted the Executive Council meetings and Council of Ministers meetings here in Botswana, Gaborone. The meetings are hosted on rotational bases by all member countries. The first meeting of year 2017 was held in Swaziland in May this year.

These meetings will provide platforms for all members states to get an update about the affairs the Region and get to share notes on how other member countries are implementing agreed sports development programmes as the region such as PPP and

Also very strategic about Botswana hosting these meeting is the fact that Botswana will be hosting the AUSC Regions 5 Youth Games in December 2018. This will be an opportune time for the LOC to give an update on the state of preparation for this event.

Mr. Siyabonga Sangweni

AUSC Region 5

Projects and Marketing Manager

Office Tel: 391 4960

Mobile Tel: 769 90 999






The African Union Sport Council Region5 (AUSC Region5) is the sports arm of the African Union, which was once the Organisation of African Unity. It was formed in the 1960s, and its headquarters is based in Yaoundé, Cameroon.

The main aim of the AUSC is to use sports to achieve peace, integration and unity in Africa i.e. sport as a vehicle of encouraging people to develop and come together, irrespective of colour, economic status, political, class, or gender.

The AUSC divided Africa into seven competition zones due to the vastness of the continent and for financial prudence. The main consideration was the countries’ geographical positions. It is from this that AUSC Region was born.


The African Union Sports Council (AUSC) Region 5 is one of the five Regions entrusted with the responsibility to develop sport under the African Union. This follows the dissolution of the Supreme Council for Sport in Africa (SCSA), under which the Region 5 was known as SCSA Zone VI.

Members of the Region comprise of: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The SCSA was established on the 14 December 1966 and served as a specialized agency of the Organization of African Unity (OAU) for the coordination of the Africa Sports Movement and to utilize Sport in the struggle against colonialism and apartheid on the continent. Invariably, the SCSA was essentially a political organization which furthered the aims and objectives of the OAU through Sport.